72 hour visa-free stay in Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou

Effective on January 1st, 2013, both Beijing and Shanghai will allow transit passengers from 45 countries to stay in these cities for up to 72 hours without a visa.

Shanghai has already been offering visa-free transit stays for some certain passport-holders for a maximum of 48 hours. In Shanghai, transit passengers holding third country visas and plane tickets can enter Shanghai through the city’s two airports, Hongqiao (SHA) and Pudong (PVG); in Beijing, transit passengers can enter only through Beijing Capital International Airport (PEK).

The 45 visa-free countries are:
Argentina, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Japan, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, -Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain; Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.


Starting in August, Guangzhou will also allow visitors traveling to 3rd country to stay in the province up to 3 days visa-free.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *